The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Holiday programming is in full swing as networks fill the airwaves with shows to get viewers in the festive spirit, from classic films like It’s A Wonderful Life and How The Grinch Stole Christmas to made-for-TV movies and other holiday specials. Here’s The Onion’s guide to what to watch this holiday season.

Advertisement

2 / 13

1.

1.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

A Christmas Burden (Lifetime, Friday, Dec. 18, 7 p.m. EST/6 p.m. CST) — The Towson household agrees to host a family friend for the holidays while she’s going through a divorce.

Advertisement

3 / 13

2.

2.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Harry Potter And The Sorcerer’s Stone (ABC, Saturday, Dec. 19, 8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST) — The popular fantasy film gets the holiday treatment by coming out around Christmas.

Advertisement

4 / 13

3.

3.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Charlie Rose (PBS, Sunday, Dec. 20, 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST) — Veteran host and journalist Charlie Rose conducts an in-depth 90-minute interview with current White House chief of staff Mark Meadows about the true meaning of Christmas.

Advertisement

5 / 13

4.

4.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Santas Over Dreidels (ABC Family, Monday, Dec. 21, 8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST) — As the holidays approach for the interfaith Smith family, the children get ready to celebrate Christmas because their father is more rigid and overbearing.

Advertisement

6 / 13

5.

5.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Iron Chef Christmas Throwdown (Food Network, Tuesday, Dec. 22, 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST) — Top chefs compete in Kitchen Stadium with this year’s special holiday ingredient: a full-grown Fraser fir.

Advertisement

7 / 13

6.

6.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Not My Daughter’s Christmas List (Lifetime, Wednesday, Dec. 23, 9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST) — A loving mother mistakenly purchases gifts for a strange man after she discovers his Christmas list in her daughter’s room.

Advertisement

8 / 13

7.

7.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

The Christmas Feet (AMC, Wednesday, Dec. 23, 9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST) — In AMC’s Walking Dead-themed remake of the holiday classic, a child worries that his zombie mother won’t be able to stagger to heaven and meet Jesus with her rotting, putrescent leg stumps.

Advertisement

9 / 13

8.

8.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Hamstrung For The Holidays (ABC Family, Thursday, Dec. 24, 7 p.m. EST/6 p.m. CST) — Embarrassed by her poor cooking skills, perennially single businesswomen Mary Harte hires the nice guy next door to pretend to be her eight-pound glazed ham.

Advertisement

10 / 13

9.

9.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Ken Burns: Christmas (NBC, Thursday, Dec. 24, 8 p.m. EST/7 p.m. CST) — This entry in Burns’ massive, critically acclaimed documentary series on the Christmas holiday focuses solely on tinsel.

Advertisement

11 / 13

10.

10.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Dead Christmas Husband (Lifetime, Friday, Dec. 25, 9 p.m. EST/8 p.m. CST) — Christmas is no fun when your husband is dead. Can Judie find a new husband before midnight on Christmas Eve?

Advertisement

12 / 13

11.

11.

Illustration for article titled The Onion’s Holiday TV Guide: Movies And Shows To Watch This Season

Yuletimate Logging (HGTV, Friday, Dec. 25, 11 p.m. EST/10 p.m. CST) — In this contest of endurance, two large logs duke it out for crackling supremacy.

Advertisement

13 / 13